Skip to main content

Primary Years Program

Primary Years Program (PYP) is for students from age 3 to grade 5. The PYP prepares students to become lifelong learners who care for others and respect differences. It focuses on the development of the whole child as an inquirer who asks questions and is curious about things, both within and beyond the classroom.

PYP emphasizes international mindedness through the learner profile attributes and the local and global issues addressed in the units of inquiry.

There are six units (for K-5 students) and four units of inquiry (for age 3-Pre-K students) under the six trans-disciplinary themes listed below. Early childhood students are required to complete a unit under How We Express Ourselves and Who We Are.
  • Who we are
  • Where we are in place and time
  • How the world works
  • How we express ourselves
  • Sharing the planet
  • How we organize ourselves
The content of the units are based on the common core Science and Social Studies skills that are reorganized to have deeper focus and connect to global issues.

PYP has different types of assessment that are done to understand students’ pre-knowledge and the process as well as the end result.

Essential Elements of PYP
  • Knowledge– The units of inquiry
  • Key Concepts– The eight key concepts are for in-depth understanding that is beyond the subject area.
  • Skills– Students develop and apply these skills in class and the outside world such as cooperating as a social skill or organization as a self-management skill.
  • Attitudes– They contribute to international mindedness and learner profiles such as empathy or tolerance as attitudes.
  • Action–An in depth inquiry will lead to responsible action for students in each unit of inquiry.